and my favorite colors is….

I remember being very very young and confusing color with smell. To smell yellow would mean lemon scented. Purple, grape. It makes perfect sense to me feel colors too – although I disagree with the standard associations. For example, I’d never put green with envy. I think of it as fresh, or clean, or as in Cleopatra’s line:
My salad days,
When I was green in judgment, cold in blood,
To say as I said then! (1.5.74)

Love that quote! It rolls color, taste, emotion, and action all together into three tidy lines!

I think the variety of color is why I fell head over heels for polymer clay. Here was an easily cured clay that not only came in a glorious range of colors, but could also be blended and kneaded into an infinity of shades. And yet, despite all my options, I invariably reach for the blue family. Blue can be calm and smoothing, rich and vibrant, or cool and sophisticated. For this week’s blog circle, I have found some blues I admire. The first is from Pottery Heaven:

Colbalt (Blue) Spoon Rest

I could lose myself in that cobalt blue!

Here’s a soft blue I admire from Wyverndesigns:

Ripple and Fan Design Hand Knitted Cotton Face Cloths Or Dish Cloths

 

 

 

 

 

 

And lastly, this delicious teal from Sol Heritage:

Teal Blue Crochet Scarf – Benefiting the Sexual Assault Response Network of Central Ohio

Ah my beautiful blue!
I hope you indulge your taste for your favorite color too!

This entry was posted in blogging again ring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to and my favorite colors is….

  1. I love the fact that you equate colors with with smells! I do, too! Thanks for including my wash cloth set in your wonderful post.

  2. You are so welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

