january 3

I must start this post by saying this: I quit smoking exactly 8 months ago today.

Now then…….

I listed a new necklace yesterday that is a bit different (for me):

Small Purple Polymer Clay Roses and Turquoise Sugar Skulls Day of the Dead Necklace

Until now, I have never used skulls in any artwork or jewelry. Why? you may ask. Very simply, for some skulls are an integral part of pop culture, belief systems, and art. For me, the only time skulls surfaced was during a theatrical performance. In my family, skulls meant death and/or evil, two things one should always strive to avoid. As the years past, I of course learned about the Day of the Dead and sugar skulls. Not too long ago, I watched the Nova monarch butterfly episode. Wonderful! I happened to see these sugar skull beads at the flea market (I don’t think they are turquoise, but they are a nice stone) and could not resist. They also gave me an excuse to make polymer clay roses! This was a fun necklace to make. Brace yourselves: I am officially hooked on roses and sugar skulls.

This entry was posted in Polymer Clay Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

