i’ve started crocheting and i can’t stop

It started innocently enough.  I needed a new winter cap.  I decided to crochet one for myself.  I hadn’t been crocheting for a bit – distracted by polymer clay I suppose – and after going through my yarn stash I saw a trip to the store was necessary.  So a couple of days later, I stopped at Joann’s on the way to the grocery store.  Two hours later, half my grocery budget spent, I emerged with a gigantic bag brimming with yarn.

Crochet has always been my first love.  In a much earlier post, I mentioned my Grandma taught me how to crochet as a grade school girl.  Although I put my hooks away for a very long time, they resurfaced in my life about twenty years ago and have not left.  During these years, I have delighted in the fabulous new yarns and techniques such as felting (not really a new technique but it fell out of favor for so long it feels new).  Now, after my trip to Joann’s, I realized, once again, how much I enjoy crochet.

I have been experimenting.  I made a few – make that several – bracelets.  I have listed a couple on my Etsy site:

I am still listing my polymer clay goodies – in between a plethora of crochet bracelets – but I feel I should warn everyone….brace yourselves for scarves, hats, and maybe even a felted pursed or two.

Okay.  I’m off to crochet a bit more.  While typing this, I have suddenly remembered I never made that cap for myself.

(By the way, my clearance sale is still going on at Valerie’s Stuff on Etsy,                      Valerie’s Stuff on Artfire and Valerie’s Stuff on Zibbet.)

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to i’ve started crocheting and i can’t stop

  1. ColtPixy says:

    How fun! I used to love to crochet. Isn’t it great how one thing leads to another and so on. Love your bracelets and can’t wait to see more goodies!

  2. Thank you! I think crocheting has turned into my “moment of Zen”!

  3. Yes, your bracelets are great! I know exactly how you feel…One trip to the half price book store sent me home with a macrame book. I forgot how much I loved to tie knots! I’m working on some macrame jewelry pieces myself and can’t wait to see what’s next! I’m thinking guitar straps…hmmm

  4. Thank you! I remember doing macrame ages ago..I loved it too. Making guitars straps sound like a fun project. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

