books books and more books at Ohbiblioholic

Ian Rankin.  Detective John Rebus.  Holy Toledo (or should that be Edinburgh?).

I’m midst adding books to our site Ohbiblioholic, when I came across a couple of              Mr. Rankin’s novels and had to pause.

The first time I saw one of the Detective John Rebus series was ages ago while on vacation.  I had stopped at a small, privately owned bookshop, Callan Books in Stratford Ontario.  The owner sold me one of the series and before I left town I had returned to the shop for more.  The cover of  Strip Jack has this quote from The New York Times Book Review, “A brutal but beautifully written series.”  Yep.  That sums it up.

Also from the Scottish Mystery category of Ohbiblioholic, another author I like, Peter Turnbull.  I have a copy of this book too:

Once again purchased in Canada many years ago.  I wonder if Dad got his copy at Callan Books as well?  (It’s a great store.  Mr. Callan has a marvelous selection.)

Gritty crime in Scotland not your thing?  How about a mix of detective work and spiritual traditions of the American southwest along with a great cast of characters?  If it sounds interesting to you,then you ought to give James D. Doss’ Charlie Moon, Scott Parris, and – of course – Daisy Perika (aging Ute shaman) Shaman series a try:

And lastly, from the Historical Fiction area, Sister Fidelma.  She is one of my favorite fictional heroines.  Peter Tremayne’s series is set in ancient Ireland and truly fascinating read.

Well, enough chit chatting for now.  Got to keep up with Dad and list yet more books.  Happy reading to all!

This entry was posted in Ohbiblioholic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

