new ideas at valerie’s stuff

The nine Greek Muses (sometimes referred to as just one muse):

Calliope, Clio, Euterpe, Melpomene, Terpsichore, Erato, Polyhymnia, Urania, Thalia

Hesiod describes these daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne (Memory) as, “all of one mind, whose hearts are set upon song and their spirit free from care, ….” Theogony (ll. 53-74).  They came to embody poetry, the arts, and sciences.  It was said they sang their songs of inspiration to mere mortals.

I don’t doubt – for example – Shakespeare, Cervantes, Rembrandt, and Mozart heard their songs. Same goes for Edison, Einstein, and Tesla.  Leonardo da Vinci had a nine-part chorus happening in his garden.

But me?  Nope.

I got into the habit of referring to ‘my muse’ from visiting forums.  Quite often, I find people referring to their muses.  Some people are talking about the Greek Muses, others feel a spiritual force behind their work, and some mean new ideas or inspirations for their creations.  So I now say, “my muse has abandoned me. ”  Actually, if I ever had one to begin with, she has packed up, moved to Tahiti, and is right now having her cabana boy fetch her another mimosa while she basks in the sun.  Obviously, what I saying is: muse or no muse, for quite awhile I have been bereft of new ideas or inspirations…until last weekend.

I was sitting in my workroom, (really a corner of our spare bedroom with a terrific 60’s desk for a work table), glaring at my clay and occasionally giving it a poke with a bit of wire.  Hmmm.  Why not have fun with wire and polymer clay?  These were the results:

A bit odd, fun to make, and I kinda like them.  I’ll take a slightly tipsy, sunburned muse over no muse any day of the week.

This entry was posted in Polymer Clay Jewelry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to new ideas at valerie’s stuff

  1. valldawn says:

    Haahaahaaa wonderful. my muse must be vacationing with your muse!!! Love your post, you have a great way with writing!

  2. valldawn says:

    The pendants are really cool too!

Leave a Reply

